Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Becoming A Second Wife-advice Please 2nd wife

Posted 12 July 2011 - 10:17 PM (#1) User is offline   alvina 

• New Moon
  • Pip
  • Group: Members

i'm new to this forum and on it because i need some serious advice.
i'm a young successful professional single mum of a 3year old. in the past i've always thought polygamy is weird and there is no way i would ever do it. however i have recently fallen for a married man. when i say fallen for i don't mean i've had any sort of relationship like that apart from meeting him for a coffee often with others present and sometimes just us. he really likes me and has done so for many years.only recently he expressessd his feelings and made a proposition to me to think about. he has a child and a wife he was forced to marry. him and his wife don't get along. he asked me to marry him...but in secret. he will provide me with a house and anything i need and is willing to sign a contract...now this is really weird for me. but the thing is i had such an awful ex husband and i know this man is a good decent man.he's everything my ex wasn't. my ex husband left me, beat me etc. this man, he cannot leave his wife because of the child. i respect that.
but because i feel meeting someone you like is a blessing in itself i don't want to say no....i'm actually contemplating being a second wife. here are my problems...
1. i find it difficult to keep a secret and have no idea or courage on how to present this to my parents (considering i had a love marriage in the past and it failed)?they'll just think i've gone mad.

2. i'm not legally considered a wife if i accept...so what precautions could i take eg. what type of contracts from where?

3. he's already told his first wife who at first was angry and now seems to have calmed down,....does he need her permission?